On the ninth day of Geekmas, Data did give to me…

My history with superpowers!

As I have grown up, I have been much like most other kids in that I have dreamed of having superpowers. Even to this day, I dream of having superhuman abilities. MY dreams are a bit more refined now than they were, but the core of the dream is still there. I could talk about why I dream so often to have powers, but I don’t really want to get into that. Rather, I plan on outlining what powers I have wanted as I have grown older.

The first power I remember wanting was super speed I believe. When I first started dreaming about powers, I imagined myself with all the basic ones; flight, super-strength, super speed, etc. I still think it would be cool to have all these things, but there are other powers that would be cooler.

Next was control of time. In my middle school mind, I figured controlling time would be nice because then I would essentially have superspeed, but I could also travel in time. I imagined I could freeze time around me and transport myself to different points in time. This would still be cool, but I have watched enough Doctor Who to know that time travel could be problematic.

Next was energy manipulation! Whether it was electricity, radiation, or just pure energy, I thought it would be awesome to control these forces. This dream came about as I started watching all the Marvel movies that were coming out. In the movies I was shown that superpowers need to be weaponizable; you need to be able to fight someone with them. I could easily imagine shocking someone or blasting them into the wall with a beam of energy.

The next power came along as Overwatch came out. I would watch videos of Tracer and think ‘Telportaionwould be really handy.’ So, I began imaging myself hopping around in the blink of an eye. One minute I am in my room, the next I am in the kitchen getting a snack. One minute I am hiding from an armed gunman, the next I am behind him and disarming him to save my classmates.

The last and so far most recent power I have dreamt of having, was’magic’. This came about when I saw Wanda Maximoff in action in Avengers 2. I loved watching her manipulate the physical world around her with only her mind. I feel like telekinesis like that would pe super handy. Too lazy to get up and grab the remote? Telekinesis. Wild gunman about to shoot some innocent people? Telekinesis.

I think it would be incorrect for me not to point out that I still want every power on this list. When a new one came along, the old power still sat in the back of my head. Occasionally I still think flying would be cool; I still want to be really strong, and I still really want to teleport. Unfortunately, none of these dreams will ever be a reality, but if we only dreamt of the possible, then the impossible would stay that way.

Those are some of the powers I have dreamt of having. What powers do you want?

Until next time, stay awesome!

 

Featured image credit to Infamous Second Son Neon